… But If I Did, They’d Have A Samurai

July 29, 2008

re·un·ion riˈyun yən/[ree-yoon-yuh n]

1.

the act of uniting again.

2.

the state of being united again.

 

3.

a gathering of relatives, friends, or associates at regular intervals or after separation: a family reunion.

Gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood Morning Vietnam!

 

Greatest line from that movie?

 

You are in more dire need of a blowjob than any white man in history’

 

Too funny.

 

Anyway.

 

Blog readers, I am indeed feelin’ fine this morning. The air is breezy and cool, I have a half day, and later on this evening, be it physically or joined in spirit, our Hoffman menagerie will once again be joined in holy lunacy.

 

It seems that of all the sides of ourselves we find easiest to neglect, the spiritual comes streaks ahead. For many, and for me especially, the spiritual side was the one where I had no practices in my life to connect to it on any sort of continued basis. I am not a god believer – though these days, I firmly believe in the light inside, brainwash! Brainwash! – so there was no real instances of a church, etc. (Or, as ‘The Simpsons’ Mr Burns would put it, doing the fingers in the air inverted commas thing Syn-o-gogue) Sure, I do the check ins, and actually, I feel a very strong connection to my Spiritual Self still, much as I did in Florence House, but there is very little I can actually DO for it in this moment in time, aside from ensure, as I am actively doing, that the truce between my body, emotions and intellect remain in tact. For instance, yesterday, I once again met my friend Rachel for a walk around The National Gallery (intellect), and then, on the walk to the tube, had a 99 and then put ice cream on Rachel’s nose. (score one for my child)  

 

So tonight, we have an opportunity to reconnect our Spiritual selves to one another – to shared experience, and to shared emotion.

 

There will be those of us at different stages in our post-Hoffman recovery, much as we were in Florence House at point in the course, but together, we are a fortress of strength and unity.

 

I look forward to seeing you all.

 

Closed Box.

 

Leave a Reply

