Funky Tumbleweed

August 28, 2008

Hello readers!

 

Last night, I did nothing. Nada. Which makes for some tough blogging.

 

I have, though, been thinking about making a CD of 80’s pop songs entirely from movie soundtracks. So far, I have:

 

01.  Back In Time – Huey Lewis and The News (Back To The Future)

02.  The Touch – Stan Bush (Transformers: The Movie) – this was an animated movie in 1986, and was comically covered by a greatly drugged up Mark Whalberg and John C. Reilly in ‘Boogie Nights’.

03.  You’re The Best – Joe Esposito (Karate Kid)

 

And I’m thinking of doing ‘Eye of the Tiger’ from ‘Rocky’ as well – though I’m fairly certain that was from the late 70’s. If you’ve got any suggestions, I’d love to hear them.

 

My brother turns 18 today. That’s not as scary as some make out, but still rather strange. In the eyes of the world, certainly in the UK, he is a man – he can basically do anything legal. What can also happen is he can be tried as an adult.

 

Of course, I would never suggest that my brother is a criminal-in-waiting, but I do worry about some of the things he does seem to do, for which he is now fully accountable. I’m probably being overprotective. But still, it’s a worry.

 

In other news, and I would suggest this is probably only of interest to the people reading this who know what the Hoffman Process is, and what it entails, I am finally making public that I am attending ‘Closure’ as a returning graduate at Florence House on September 18th.

 

I have been keeping this secret for a reason, and it is thus: to be honest, I felt bad.

 

You see, on the whole, I feel bloody fantastic. My life is incomparable to what it once was, as is my mood, my outlook and my general demeanour. In addition, in my opinion, I am doing great post-process work; really keeping in touch with the practices and tools we were armed with, and going to ‘Closure’ was just another step in that direction to keep things ‘topped up’.

 

I felt bad because, as is apparent from emails, etc, and tied into my desire to keep a bit of a healthy distance, (see yesterday’s entry) I didn’t want to be seen to be rubbing it people’s face – saying ‘I’m doing fucking great, and look how much I am keeping in touch with the things and you losers aren’t!’ That’s in no way how I feel at all, but I can understand in the monotone and expressionless world of emails, it could easily be interpreted that way.

 

So, if you are reading this, and you feel in any way ‘put upon’ or similar, my apologies to you. My favourite saying post-process is ‘it’s not about me’ – this one is.

 

Until tomorrow, when I will have plenty to write about for sure.

 

Love and light to you all

 

Closed Box

3 Responses to “Funky Tumbleweed”

  1. doublebassgirl Says:

    So I personally don’t have enough time to find out if these songs (but they probably were, they’re popular) were on movie soundtracks, but I’m gonna give you some good 80s hits anyway.
    Devo – Whip It
    Pat Benetar – Hit Me With Your Best Shot
    Billy Idol – Mony Mony
    The Police – Every Little Thing She Does is Magic
    Queen – Bohemian Rhapsody (Wayne’s World!)
    Soft Cell – Tainted Love
    Steve Miller Band – Abracadabra
    Eye of the Tiger was actually released in ’82, I think, so you’re safe.
    Corey Hart – I Wear My Sunglasses at Night
    New Order – Age of Consent
    The Cars – Drive
    Nena – 99 Red Balloons
    Scorpions – Rock You Like a Hurricane
    Tom Robinson – War Baby
    Europe – The Final Countdown (cheesy, I know)
    U2 – With Or Without You
    Crosby, Still, Nash & Young – American Dream
    Jerry Lee Lewis – Great Balls of Fire (Top Gun)
    Neil Young – Rockin’ in the Free World
    The Tragically Hip – New Orleans is Sinking

    And you may notice that most of this is 80s pop, but what can I say, I like 80s pop. 🙂 Sorry I don’t know if they’ve been in movies or not, but hope that helps/hope you have fun, haha.

  2. resonanteye Says:

    better than “whip it” is “the girl you want” by devo.
    also, “dedad man’s party” by oingo boingo, which was in several 80s movies, “don’t you forget about me” which was in breakfast club, and “cities” by talking heads.

    the 80s movies had the best soundtracks.

  3. Mike Says:

    Despite shuddering slightly at the suggestions above, I can heartily recommend the following book for those interested in 80’s music:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Rip-Up-Start-Again-1978-1984/dp/057121570X/

    Some suggestions:
    Brian Eno
    Kate Bush
    Kraftwerk
    Talking Heads
    Talk Talk
    The Penguin Cafe Orchestra
    The The


Leave a Reply

