It’s My Birthday, My B-B-B-Birthday

October 21, 2008

 

(damn you Chris, I was going to use this title before you bought me a card, and now you’re going to have to take some shared credit!)

 

Hello all – and welcome to my birthday! Come bask in my reflected glory as I enter into my 29th year.

 

It’s easy for people to look at landmark dates as an excuse/reason to ‘start over’ – whether it’s with New Year’s resolutions or the like, but for me, the 29th anniversary of my birth marks a first – the first time I can look forward to entire year with a feeling of excitement about the future.

 

This time last year, I was lost. I had started a job which was another means of ticking along and paying rent, I was living in a house I didn’t want to be in, and living a life I didn’t want to live. I was scared, not my real self, and about to start seeing yet another therapist in an attempt to get one or all of many monkeys off my back.

 

I have much to do in the next 365 days – I have to sort my housing out, despite having no pressure in that regard. I have to find a new job, and, I finally feel as though I am ready to take those tentative but exciting steps into a real relationship, and, as I get towards 30, I can’t help but think about further into the future, about family, and children of my own.

 

But most importantly, this year will be a test of the true will of my authentic self. I have much to tackle and many hurdles to overcome in the next twelve months, and my connection to that which I have learned in the tail end of my 28th year is something I really hope/want/must maintain.

 

Last night, I was out with my friend Alex for some drinks in my favourite place in the world – The Lock Tavern in Camden Town – and we got to talking about religion, our views on what being Jewish means or doesn’t mean to us, and then, spirituality. Rather than relay it, I’m going to leave you today sounding a little bit preachy – but you know what? It’s my birthday, and my blog. So there!

 

This is, approximately, what I told Alex last night. I hope to feel exactly the same way in 365 days time – if not for a considerable time after that.

 

All my love in the world,

Closed Box the Birthday Boy

 

There exists inside us all a universal truth – an essence of great purity; a life-force which always knows your true desires. The clarity of your connection to this truth is directly responsible for your true happiness, and how close you are to your authentic self.

 

EDIT: I was going to write more, but I’ve decided to leave it there. Rather say too little than too much.

6 Responses to “It’s My Birthday, My B-B-B-Birthday”

  1. Tonje Says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

  2. brookem Says:

    happy birthday! love that quote.

  3. Powerless and afraid(less so) Says:

    Happy birthday man.

    When i get down about my age, i will always know that there is a david out there one year ahead of me.

    I wish you all the best with all that lays ahead.

  4. posteret Says:

    Happy Birthday David! I hope you have a wonderful Birthday. xx

  5. UrbanVox Says:

    heya!
    happy b’day!!!! late but happy! hehehehehe

    stay blessed!!!

  6. karmalove Says:

    Interesting take on spirituality, and so very true.
    Hope you get closer to your authentic self, and soon. 🙂

    Happy Belated Birthday 🙂


Leave a Reply

